Baudelaire in Leeds

Ship-Yard-1I was wandering around Leeds city centre this afternoon, when, around 3:20pm, I stopped on Lands Lane at the entrance to The Ship Yard, as always struck by the wooden enclosed walkway connecting the buildings on either side. After wandering into the yard, I noticed at ground level an intriguing walled-up window, with a stone lintel, above and slightly to the right of which a metal plaque was fixed to a wooden block.

Ship-Yard-2

There was  writing on the plaque, in French with an accompanying translation, presumably a quotation, which, I felt sure, was from the 19th century, possibly Rimbaud or Baudelaire:

Trebuchant sur les mots comme sur les paves
(stumbling against words as against
cobblestones)

Ship-Yard-3

On returning home, I checked and found it was indeed Baudelaire, from his poem, ‘Le Soleil’ published in the ‘Tableaux Parisiens’ section of Fleurs du mal, translations of which can be found here:

http://fleursdumal.org/poem/101

I wonder how long this plaque has been there and who might have been responsible for its appearance.

Kenneth Cox
17th January 2014

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.